PDA

View Full Version : dilemma

pockets
05-18-2013, 10:33 PM
What's a reasonable price to pay at a shop to have all wheel bearings and races replaced on a 4wd? This will be the first time I take something to a shop so I'm trying not to get screwed over.

Raptor05121
05-19-2013, 07:52 AM
You could do the backs yourself. For the fronts I would go around and get 2-3 quotes

pockets
05-19-2013, 10:06 AM
Ok then I'm definitely doing the backs myself. And thanks for the advice on getting quotes... I'm new to taken vehicles to shops cause I usually just fix it myself.

Raptor05121
05-19-2013, 05:29 PM
In the 15 years I've been with mine- its been to the Ford dealer twice, for stuff I couldn't do myself in the time allotted (engine swap and clutch replacement)

pockets
05-19-2013, 05:55 PM
I just cringe at the idea of taking it to a shop for a couple reasons 1. It's hard to find an honest shop and 2. Since I'm a female they treat me like I don't know jack **** and try to tell me I need none existing things such as muffler bearings and blinker fluid which really pisses me off.

RhinoZ24
05-19-2013, 11:50 PM
Well it's good that you know about that, unlike my sister who would buy anything a mechanic said she needed.

pockets
05-20-2013, 01:32 AM
Your sister sounds like my sisters and mom. I had to teach my older sister how to pump gas and show my mom where to put in the power steering fluid and radiator fluid.

----------

Oh and if someone says some sort of part that sounds suspicious to me I question the hell out of them about it and if they start making s*** up I know they're full of it.

RhinoZ24
05-20-2013, 04:04 PM
Your sister sounds like my sisters and mom. I had to teach my older sister how to pump gas and show my mom where to put in the power steering fluid and radiator fluid.

----------

Oh and if someone says some sort of part that sounds suspicious to me I question the hell out of them about it and if they start making s*** up I know they're full of it.